DWI Consequences North Carolina | Get Help| King Law Firm
DWI Consequences North Carolina

DWI Consequences North Carolina

by King Law Firm | Easy Listen Option

DWI Consequences North Carolina

The laws regarding DWIs (Driving While Intoxicated) in North Carolina are among the harshest in the nation. Out of the desire to keep its roads and those that travel on them safe, the state of North Carolina comes down hard on those convicted of a DWI. If you’re facing DWI charges, the time to seek professional legal counsel is now.

A North Carolina DWI

In North Carolina, a DWI charge can stem from any of the following transgressions:

  • Driving while under the influence of alcohol (or any other substance that impairs)
  • Driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that is 0.08 percent or higher (the national legal limit)
  • Driving with any amount of a controlled substance in your system (such as heroin, OxyContin, amphetamines, and other dangerous drugs)

Administrative Penalties Related to DWIs

Although driving while intoxicated is a crime, there are also administrative penalties from a DWI charge imposed by the North Carolina Department of Transportation and which are separate from the criminal penalties you’ll face. The most significant administrative penalty is the revocation of your license. This revocation comes in two forms: the civil suspension of your license upon arrest and the criminal suspension of your license if you’re ultimately convicted. Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test after a police officer has pulled you over or has taken you to the police station will earn you an immediate 30-day revocation of your driver’s license. A conviction will get you a full year’s suspension (with the possibility of limited driving privileges).

Criminal Penalties Related to DWIs

The criminal penalties for a first-time DWI offense are graded on levels from I to V (V being the least serious level). These penalties are apportioned as follows:

  • Level V – A Level V conviction brings 24 hours to 60 days of incarceration and up to $200 in fines.
  • Level IV – A Level IV conviction brings 48 hours to 120 days of incarceration and up to $500 in fines.
  • Level III – A Level III conviction brings 72 hours to 6 months of incarceration and up to $1,000 in fines.
  • Level II – A Level II conviction brings one week to one year of incarceration and up to $2,000 in fines.
  • Level I – A Level I conviction brings 30 days to 2 years in jail and up to $4,000 in fines.

 

It is important to note that most first offenses don’t reach convictions of Level of I or II (although there have been exceptions in the past).

Discuss Your Charge with an Experienced North Carolina Criminal Defense Attorney Today

If you’re facing a DWI charge, it’s essential to recognize that the consequences of a conviction will have a long-lasting and adverse effect on your future. The dedicated criminal defense attorneys at King Law Firm in North Carolina are committed to building a robust defense and protecting your legal rights. We’re here to help, so please don’t hesitate to contact or call us at (800) 635-1683 for more information today.

3.3/5 (4 Reviews)
3.7/5 (3 Reviews)
5/5 (1 Review)
5/5 (1 Review)
en_USEnglish